..:: Latest News ::..

Semi Finals Wrap - 21/3/11

Written by Leon Retallick
Monday 21st  March, 2011

The Bendigo Tennis Association finals kicked off this weekend, with all 4 matches in premier league and section 2 going down to the wire.  14 games was all that decided the 4 finals results, with all matches being split on sets.

Bendigo Lawn National 6-72-6 df Spring Gully Brougham Arms 6-67-6

Bendigo Lawn National have booked themselves a place in the Premier League decider, for the 3rd successive year.  The leagues no 1 team however had to wait until the final set of the day to seal victory over arch rivals Spring Gully Brougham Arms, by just 5 games.

The Broughie started the better of the two teams, taking the early lead following the opening doubles sets, with wins to ladies pairing Jessica Hartland and Bronwyn Osborne 8/2, whilst Andrew Lethlean and Craig Nolan proved too strong for Lawn's Alistair Baker and Nick Bath.

Curt and Ward Garwood got the Lawn National team started, with a dominating opening men's doubles win over Travis Toner (pictured) and Jamie Brown 8/2.  The brothers then continued their form, with the pair dropping but 2 games in the singles.

The Broughie hit back again though, with Jessica Hartland dominating Tamara Wright (pictured), whilst Andrew Lethlean had too much fire power for Nick Bath in winning 8/4.

Mandy Connors-Butson was the next set off, with the Lawn champ continuing her unbeaten streak over Bronwyn Osborne.

With the match split at 4 sets each, attention turned to the last men's singles, where the Broughie's Craig Nolan lead Lawn's Alistair Baker 6 games to 3.  However, with Nolan clearly tiring, Baker rallied locking the match at 7 games all and looking headed to a tiebreak.  However, with Nolan struggling to hold serve at 7/8 down, Baker looked to take his opportunities to close the door on the match.  Nolan again showed his fighting qualities, fending off no less than 11 match points, before finally succumbing to the weight of numbers, with Baker winning 9/7.

The mixed and final men's doubles continued along the roller coaster ride, with Lethlean and Osborne first off for the Broughie to level the match at 5 sets all.

However, with a superior games difference, the Lawn team would only need to win one of the final 2 sets of court to win the day.  Again, it was captain Curt Garwood who lead from the front, combining with Tamara Wright to win 9/7 over Hartland and Brown.

The Broughie took the fight up to their rivals to the end, with Toner and Nolan taking a last set tiebreaker over Ward Garwood and Alistair Baker, to level the match on sets.

Curt Garwood was the standout player for the day, winning his 3 sets.  Whilst Andrew Lethlean was the Broughie's best player in winning his 3 matches.

Bendigo Lawn Boltons 6-71-6 df South Bendigo 6-67-6

Bendigo Lawn Bolton's continued their 2010/11 campaign, moving into next week's Preliminary Final following a narrow 4 game victory over South Bendigo.  The win means the Bolton's team will now play Spring Gully Brougham Arms for the right to challenge reigning premiers Bendigo Lawn National in the decider on the 2nd of April.

The Lawn Bolton's team got off to a solid start, taking the opening men's and ladies doubles sets through the combination of Leroy Miller and Terry Smith 8/4, whilst Tova Penno and Rebeccca Tweed had their season's best win  in defeating South's Ash Baker and Alyssa Cole 8/5.

South Bendigo hit back, with Grant Leader and Frank Ryan getting their team's first win 8/4 over Michael Smyth (pictured) and Danny Watson.

The match moved to the singles, with Bolton's duo Leroy Miller and Michael Smyth being the first matches off following a pair of 8/0?s over Simon Kelly and Frank Ryan respectively.

South hit back, squaring the match at 4 sets all with wins to Pat McMillian, Grant Leader and Ashlea Baker.

Rebecca Tweed and Alyssa Cole battled on court 11 for some time, with Tweed again having the edge over her South opponent, to give the Bolton's team the lead at the mixed.

With a sizeable games difference, South would need to win the last 3 sets of the day to snatch victory.  Their prospects rose, with Grant Leader and Alyssa Cole again leveling the match on sets, with 2 matches to play.

The final men's doubles set was a ripper, with Leroy Miller and Danny Watson outlasting Frank Ryan and Simon Kelly 9-7 to give Bolton's their 6th set and ultimately the day.

Leroy Miller (pictured) continued his fantastic season, capturing his 3 sets and proving the difference between the teams.  Grant Leader has his best final for sometime, in winning his 3 sets for South.

Section 2 Round 20

BLTC Stoser have moved through to the Grand Final for the second year in a row, following a gritty 4 game victory over arch rivals Spring Gully Sensation.  Lawn Stoser, the reigning premiers, will now wait for next week's preliminary final, where Spring Gully Sensation will meet Spring Gully Racqueteers.

The Racqueteers continued their 2010/11 season, following a 1 game nail biting win over the highly rated Epsom DCK.  The match came down to the last set of the day, where Alison Lugg and Matt Collins fought off a brave challenge from Epsom's Ian Miller and Josie Stuart to win 9/7. And secure the day.

Final Results

Premier League

Qualifying Final: Bendigo Lawn National 6-72 df Spring Gully Brougham Arms 6-67
Elimination Final: Bendigo Lawn Boltons 6-71 df South Bendigo 6-67

Section 2

Qualifying Final: BLTC Stoser 5-67 df Spring Gully Sensation 5-63
Elimination Final: Epsom DCK 5-59 lt Spring Gully Racqueteers 5-60